top of page

Hurtful People

Updated: Apr 17, 2022

I have a question for you

The one who looked into my eyes

To find joy in my wilting soul

The one who laughed saying

“She is incapable”

Of whatever you call success to be

Meanwhile

I am just trying to be.


I have a question for you

The boy who climbs on the backs of women

Who steps on their spine

Pulls their hair and

Shoves them down

Just so he can reach a little higher off the ground...


Why?

Why must you use me?

Does your heart beat when you beat me... emotionally?

Is my heart so full that you must rip away a piece for yourself?

Stripping the piece that commands the mouth

Leaving me

Unable to speak for MYself?


I have a question for you

The ones who watch

The ones who hear

The ones who see

Who are complacent as I disappear...

The ones who stand by and step aside allowing this boy to walk while my tongue is tied...


To you who remain silent

Saving your reputation out of selfish ambition

and to you

The ones confused

Stuck in the clouded expectation for me to break my own situation

This culture has clothed you in hesitancy

your vision is blurred through the lens prescribed by society...

Can you SEE me?

The desperation in my eyes, urgently searching for your assurance

Can you HEAR me?

The shallow breath that is clawing to be released, screaming for your protection

Can you SPEAK for me?

a girl shrinking in her own skin.


I am Woman.

194 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page